Superhuman Happiness, Minka

C'mon Everybody Presents:

Superhuman Happiness


Wed · May 30, 2018

8:00 pm

$10.00 - $12.00

This event is 21 and over

Superhuman Happiness
Superhuman Happiness
Superhuman Happiness is a team of musicians based in and around New York City.

The band released their second full length record in September 2015 entitled Escape Velocity. The album was written and recorded over the 3 three years leading up to it’s release. The album contrasted the previous Hands in several ways, primarily in its relative introspection. The collaborations were less formal, and the performances were more collage like, assembled over time through countless sessions of overdubs. The result is a slightly more electronic soundscape, more troubled and introverted lyrics, and most significantly the presence of new vocalist Andrea Diaz, who joined the group amidst the recording process. The song Super 8 received considerable airplay on LA’s KCRW.

In October of 2014, the band released the single Catch A Break, ushering a new sound featuring the vocalist Andrea Diaz joining the cast. The song was composed by Bogie and long time collaborator Eric Biondo at their studio overlooking a dump in north Brooklyn. The song addresses city life, and living on the hamster wheel of ambition and survival. Catch a Break was produced by Royal Potato Family label mate Sam Cohen and mixed by Chris Tabron. The single is the first in a series of releases revealing their new discoveries in sound and poetry.

The group released their first full length album in 2013, entitled Hands. The record applied an approach coined “Intentional Collaboration” by which the musicians, over the course of several rehearsals, practice musical and theatrical improv games simultaneously drilling certain musical skills while opening up their creative impulses and developing the group mind. Many of these games are simple clapping patterns which over time became the foundation for the majority of pieces on Hands.

The music on Hands was developed and performed by Stuart Bogie, Luke O'Malley, Eric Biondo, Ryan Ferreira, Jared Samuel, Nikhil Yerawadekar and Miles Arntzen, with additional performances by Colin Stetson, Afi McClendon, Abena Koomson, Kalmia Traver, Shaneeka Harrel and Joci Adams. It was engineered by Phil Pallazolo at Seaside Studio in Brooklyn, mixed by P. Pallazolo, Hernan Santiago, Josh Grant , Dan Huron, and mastered by Hernan Santiago.

In Fall of 2012 they recorded the score (alongside Kronos Quartet) for the Oscar and Emmy nominated documentary Film How to Survive a Plague. The score was composed and produced by Stuart Bogie and Luke O'Malley and recorded by Superhuman Happiness and Kronos Quartet. Red Hot provided Music Supervision, the film was directed by David France, and produced by Howard Gertler

Superhuman Happiness, acting as the house band, shared the stage with Kronos Quartet, Tony Allen, Sahr Ngaujah (Tony nominated lead from the musical Fela!), M1 of Dead Prez, Rubblebucket, Congolese rapper Biloji, Grammy award winner Angelique Kidjo, Sinkane (DFA records), and Abena Kooson, performing the score to How to Survive a Plague live at Lincoln Center Out of Doors (2013) as part of a series celebrating Kronos' 40 year career. The concert also featured performances of music from the Red Hot and Riot 2 compilation of the music of Fela Anikulapo Kuti.

The group functions as film composers, creative back-up band, and independent performance unit all at once. These three areas of work encapsulate the mission of the group and their art.
Venue Information:
C'mon Everybody
325 Franklin Avenue
Brooklyn, NY, 11238